Tag Archives: Book Reviews

Bargain Book of the Week – Katie

katie

 

This series highlights cheap, free, or discounted books to give you, dear reader, the most options on what to read.

$0.99

Katrion (Katie) James, the oldest daughter of the Broken J ranch has always been the serious, responsible one. Can she finally let go and answer the call of her heart, or will her mother’s dying words forever bind her to a life without a love of her own?
Strong, independent and dedicated to her family Katie believes that life is all about responsibility. Working alongside her father to see that the ranch is successful she has all but forgotten she is a woman.

Continue reading Bargain Book of the Week – Katie

Advertisements

Bargain Book of the Week – Stolen by a Star

stolen by a star

 

This series highlights cheap, free, or discounted books to give you, dear reader, the most options on what to read.

Free, discounted from $2.99

Book 1 of this series: Dawn Bailey always loved books, and her dream was to own her own quiet bookstore to care for those who shared her love of books. Her highly successful, but terminally ill, father had suddenly retired and surprised her by investing in the perfect little book shop that the two of them could run together…but he never mentioned his physical condition and prognosis to her.

Continue reading Bargain Book of the Week – Stolen by a Star

Throwback Thursday: Second Spring – Book Review

second spring

 

SECOND SPRING BY SANDHYA JANE

This is Avantika’s heartfelt journey through love and life…

As a smart, successful, thirty-eight-year-old single mother, Avantika seemingly has it all: a great career as a seasoned banking professional, respect and admiration from her peers as an able leader, fulfillment as a mother, and so many other things.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Second Spring – Book Review

Home to Stay – Book Review

home to stay

 

She’s bringing his son home

A missing little boy triggers San Diego K-9 officer Shannon Clemens and her canine search-and-rescue partner into instant action.

For the rookie cop haunted by a childhood tragedy, bringing Sawyer Evans’s son safely home is more than a job… It’s a mission she can’t fail.

Forging a friendship with the father is a tactical error that could compromise her first solo assignment. Yet the deepening bond between them is almost impossible to resist…

Continue reading Home to Stay – Book Review

Throwback Thursday: Justice Delayed – Book Review

justice delayed

 

Justice Delayed by Patricia Bradley

It’s been eighteen years since TV crime reporter Andi Hollister’s sister was murdered. The confessed killer is behind bars, and the execution date is looming. 

But when a letter surfaces stating that the condemned killer didn’t actually do it, Detective Will Kincaide of the Memphis Cold Case Unit will stop at nothing to help Andi get to the bottom of it. After all, this case is personal: the person who confessed to the crime is Will’s cousin.

Continue reading Throwback Thursday: Justice Delayed – Book Review

A Daring Sacrifice – Book Review

daring sacrifice

 

The only thing harder than fighting for what’s right… is fighting their feelings for each other. 

For three years, the Cloaked Bandit has terrorized Wessex, robbing the nobility by knifepoint and a well-placed arrow. But, little does anyone know, this bandit is in fact Juliana Wessex, the rightful ruler of the land and a girl her tyrannical uncle – the current Lord Wessex – believes was killed along with her father.

Continue reading A Daring Sacrifice – Book Review

I Have Never – Book Review

i have never

 

Twenty-nine-year-old Blair Walker is a girl with a plan, or more a girl with a list. A list of dos and don’ts to live the perfect life, land a dream career, and marry Mr. Right.

When Blair loses her job and gets dumped by her boyfriend all in one day, she starts to wonder if she’s had it all wrong. And what better way to find out than experience everything the list forbade?

With hilarious consequences, Blair will discover some items are trickier to tick off than she’d thought…

A laugh out loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Sophie Kinsella, and Mhairi McFarlane. First Comes Love is a series of interconnected romantic novels. However, each book in the series can be read as a standalone novel.

SERIES: First Comes Love #2
GENRE: Contemporary Chick Lit
RELEASE DATE: July 13, 2017
PAGES: 228

At twenty-nine what do I have to show for it all? Nothing. No job. No boyfriend.

Confession time: I totally grabbed this book because of the cover. I love the style, the colors, the whimsy. It makes me smile just looking at it. Yes, it seems that I’m suffering from an extreme case of cover love 🙂

But the inside is just as delightful. I grinned through most of the story, except for those moments when I was holding my breath to see what Richard was going to do. Blair’s narrative voice is hilarious, snarky, and relatable – and her adorable dog Chevron could easily show up on my list of quirky animals in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post.

And let’s just talk about the romantical tension for a second. HOLY KISSINGBOOKS, BATMAN! Keep a fan handy for this read. The electricity between Richard and Blair could light up New York all on its own. I appreciated that Isley kept all the sexy times behind closed doors – just some kissing that will make you search for the nearest freezer and then fade to black. Blair sums it up for us later (which means you’ll be chuckling even as you fan yourself) but it’s still appropriate and classy. Isley does a fantastic job of conveying desire and emotion with a look… with a tight voice … with a text from an intrigued observer.

The secondary characters are fabulous, too. I’ve mentioned Chevron but I can’t forget everyone who works with Blair and Richard. An eclectic mix of personalities with a variety of skill sets who remain endearing even as they work to advance the story. Woven throughout these great characters and the off-the-charts chemistry is Blair’s reverse bucket list. Cleverly incorporated into the chapter titles, the items on Blair’s ‘never do’ list find her rather than vice versa. While she might think she’s setting out to check them off one-by-one, she rather stumbles into most of them, realizing many times after the fact that she could make this work for her list. It helped Blair – and the plot – seem even more engaging and likable.

Bottom Line: I Have Never made me grin and fan and laugh out loud. I also cried, not gonna lie, because Isley is a master of charged emotions and tension. It’s a light chick lit read but it’s also sweet, sexy and lots of fun. You’ll fall in love with Blair, Chevron, and of course Richard and his brooding British-accented self. It’s rare for me to find a romcom that I go back and re-read right away, but I did go back and find some of my favorite snippets to swoon over again.  I’ve read a couple of Camilla’s other books and enjoyed them but I Have Never is hands-down my favorite so far.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

Reviewer’s Note: Readers may want to be aware that there is cursing in this novel, and while nothing is explicit or detailed, there is the implication of intimate activity.

My Rating: 4 stars / Loved it!

KissingBook Level: 5 / Read this near a freezer or snowbank. 

Check out I Have Never here.

 

Guest review contributed by Reading Is My Superpower. Peek at Top Ten Tuesday and Favorites Friday but also frequent author interviews/giveaways in a style of review that stands out from the rest.

 

 

 

Embracing Hope – Book Review

embracing hope

 

About the Book:

Christian college dean Drew McKinley mourns his dead wife and still wears his wedding ring.

He stumbles on a desperate journey to understand God’s motives for her tragic death. Crossing his perilous path is Allison, a graduate student and new employee in the dean’s office. Even as she deals with financial hardships, she recognizes Drew’s unresolved grief from her own loss.

Continue reading Embracing Hope – Book Review