Match Me If You Can – Book Review

match me if you can

 

 

Match Me If you Can by Michele Gorman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Match Me If You Can is a RomCom set in London and features internet dating.

Catherine, ‘London’s Best Date Doctor’, shares her business with ex-husband Richard, although his role is passive. Clients choose packages like ‘Love Match’, or ‘RecycLove’, the latter of which involves bringing in an ex, and both partners providing a romantic evaluation of the other. But Richard is about to sell his half of the business to his fiancé, Magda. Feeling hurt that Richard’s love life has moved on so quickly, Catherine is even more surprised when Magda insists on an active role in the job.

Away from work, Richard and Magda want to be friends with Catherine, both seeking her advice on their wedding plans, which is both painful and awkward for Catherine, who certainly had my admiration; I’m not sure I would have dealt so well with an ex pushing his new relationship in my face.

Catherine currently lives with two housemates: Sarah, a baker and card illustrator, and Rachel, an architect. Both girls decide to join RecycLove, persuading their ex boyfriends to join with them.

The book revolves around the loves and losses of the trio. It reflects the trend of internet dating and I liked the idea of RecycLove. The dating parts were by far my favourite; I wished there were lots more actual dating incidents and scenarios. I found the minor storylines less appealing and although they were filled with some good characters, I felt they watered down the dating theme.

Recommended for readers interested in the highs and lows of internet dating, or those who enjoy books from the RomCom / Chicklit genres.

 

Three friends upcycle their exes through London’s most popular boyfriend recycling website, but haven’t bargained on the consequences of the exchanges they make.

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

Meet best friends Catherine, Rachel and Sarah. Yet to find Mr Right, they’ve been settling for Mr Right Now. But when Catherine, London’s finest matchmaker, gets the girls to join her dating site where they can recycle their ex-boyfriends, they soon realise that anything could happen.

Rachel’s office romance James was a big fat mistake and she’s more than happy to upcycle him… Or is she? Homebody Sarah hasn’t had a date in years but when her transformation finds men falling at her newly-pedicured feet, will her popularity be worth the sacrifices she’s making? And Catherine falls asleep more often on her desk than on a man, so when she builds the perfect partner who ticks all her boxes, surely it’s a recipe for love . . . not disaster?

There’s someone for everyone, right? These best friends are about to find out for themselves . .

Michele writes books packed with heart and humor, best friends and girl power. She also writes cozy romcoms under the pen-name Lilly Bartlett. Lilly’s books are full of warmth, romance, quirky characters and guaranteed happily-ever-afters.

amazon buy image button ARR

 

 

 

 

Guest review contributed by Booklover Circumspect4. This blogger has been reading books since The Boxcar Children and The Babysitter’s Club and has since picked up the fine art of reviewing

Advertisements

One thought on “Match Me If You Can – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s