I Have Never – Book Review

i have never

 

Twenty-nine-year-old Blair Walker is a girl with a plan, or more a girl with a list. A list of dos and don’ts to live the perfect life, land a dream career, and marry Mr. Right.

When Blair loses her job and gets dumped by her boyfriend all in one day, she starts to wonder if she’s had it all wrong. And what better way to find out than experience everything the list forbade?

With hilarious consequences, Blair will discover some items are trickier to tick off than she’d thought…

A laugh out loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Sophie Kinsella, and Mhairi McFarlane. First Comes Love is a series of interconnected romantic novels. However, each book in the series can be read as a standalone novel.

SERIES: First Comes Love #2
GENRE: Contemporary Chick Lit
RELEASE DATE: July 13, 2017
PAGES: 228

At twenty-nine what do I have to show for it all? Nothing. No job. No boyfriend.

Confession time: I totally grabbed this book because of the cover. I love the style, the colors, the whimsy. It makes me smile just looking at it. Yes, it seems that I’m suffering from an extreme case of cover love 🙂

But the inside is just as delightful. I grinned through most of the story, except for those moments when I was holding my breath to see what Richard was going to do. Blair’s narrative voice is hilarious, snarky, and relatable – and her adorable dog Chevron could easily show up on my list of quirky animals in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post.

And let’s just talk about the romantical tension for a second. HOLY KISSINGBOOKS, BATMAN! Keep a fan handy for this read. The electricity between Richard and Blair could light up New York all on its own. I appreciated that Isley kept all the sexy times behind closed doors – just some kissing that will make you search for the nearest freezer and then fade to black. Blair sums it up for us later (which means you’ll be chuckling even as you fan yourself) but it’s still appropriate and classy. Isley does a fantastic job of conveying desire and emotion with a look… with a tight voice … with a text from an intrigued observer.

The secondary characters are fabulous, too. I’ve mentioned Chevron but I can’t forget everyone who works with Blair and Richard. An eclectic mix of personalities with a variety of skill sets who remain endearing even as they work to advance the story. Woven throughout these great characters and the off-the-charts chemistry is Blair’s reverse bucket list. Cleverly incorporated into the chapter titles, the items on Blair’s ‘never do’ list find her rather than vice versa. While she might think she’s setting out to check them off one-by-one, she rather stumbles into most of them, realizing many times after the fact that she could make this work for her list. It helped Blair – and the plot – seem even more engaging and likable.

Bottom Line: I Have Never made me grin and fan and laugh out loud. I also cried, not gonna lie, because Isley is a master of charged emotions and tension. It’s a light chick lit read but it’s also sweet, sexy and lots of fun. You’ll fall in love with Blair, Chevron, and of course Richard and his brooding British-accented self. It’s rare for me to find a romcom that I go back and re-read right away, but I did go back and find some of my favorite snippets to swoon over again.  I’ve read a couple of Camilla’s other books and enjoyed them but I Have Never is hands-down my favorite so far.

(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book which I received from the author. All views expressed are only my honest opinion.)

Reviewer’s Note: Readers may want to be aware that there is cursing in this novel, and while nothing is explicit or detailed, there is the implication of intimate activity.

My Rating: 4 stars / Loved it!

KissingBook Level: 5 / Read this near a freezer or snowbank. 

Check out I Have Never here.

 

Guest review contributed by Reading Is My Superpower. Peek at Top Ten Tuesday and Favorites Friday but also frequent author interviews/giveaways in a style of review that stands out from the rest.

 

 

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “I Have Never – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s