Never Tear Us Apart – Book Review

Never Tear Us Apart

 

Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy

Published January 5th 2016 by Bantam

416 Pages

Goodreads Summary: Perfect for readers of Colleen Hoover, Jay Crownover, and K. A. Tucker, the first novel in this darkly sexy contemporary series from bestselling author Monica Murphy kicks off an emotionally powerful two-part tale of forbidden love.

Crazy how eight years can disappear in an instant. One look at Katie Watts, and I’m a fifteen-year-old again—the one who risked everything to save a terrified girl from her twisted kidnapper. She’s grown-up now—beautiful, quiet, composed—and telling her story to the world. A story that involves me in more ways than you can imagine. She used to call me her guardian angel. Sure, I risked my life, but she was worth dying for.

I need to make contact with her. Just to ensure that she’s safe.

Somehow we reconnect. We become friends . . . but I want more. I want to make her mine. And she wants me too. Does she know who I am? Has she figured me out? Not yet. But she will. In the meantime, I need to make sure that whatever hold that animal had on her is gone.

So, yeah, I’m stealing these moments with her. Savoring them. Knowing, dreading, that she’ll soon find out who I really am. And everything will fall apart. All because of that twisted, perverted monster sitting on death row. Her kidnapper. A convicted serial killer.

My father.

Review: I received a copy of this book through LibraryThing in exchange for an honest review.

I didn’t have high expectations for this book but was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this.  I read it in less than 2 days because I couldn’t put it down.  It is thrilling in the right places and romantic in others.  There is also a cliffhanger ending that is sure to leave the reader eagerly awaiting the sequel.

I’ve read lots of kidnapping type stories but never one where the son of the kidnapper helps the victim escape and falls for her.  Ethan had his moments where he completely crossed the line but he was still a lovable character.  Katie, the main character, has had a rough time moving on from the kidnapping.  At times, her whining got a little on my nerves but it’s also hard for someone who has never been kidnapped to put themselves in her shoes.  I did enjoy reading this book and will definitely be reading the sequel when it is published.

4/5 Stars

You can find Never Tear Us Apart here.

 

 

Guest review contributed by The Worn Bookmark. Maren posts book reviews and tags, and she participates in challenges and read-a-thons. A book store or library is her paradise.

Advertisements

One thought on “Never Tear Us Apart – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s